Movement Prep for CrossFit Open 17.5
Video by Michael Tancini

Please check out our friend, and newly minted Physical Therapist Michael Tancini’s Movement Prep Notes for 17.5

5-10 minutes of Rowing and/or Assault Bike @ 55-65%

and then…

One set of:
Banded Hip Distraction x 45 seconds per side
Partner Thoracic Spine Stretch

and then…

General Dynamic Range of Motion Warm-Up (your personal routine, or look at Michael’s movement prep for inspiration)

and then…

Two to Three sets of:
30 seconds of Assault Bike @ 85-90%
90 seconds of Easy Pedaling

Three sets of:
Banded Good Mornings x 15-20 reps
Rest 60 seconds
6-8 Rocking Box Bridges (slow and controlled)
Rest 60 seconds

Two rounds of:
12/8 Calorie Assault Bike or Row @ 85-90%
9 Thrusters (95/65 lbs)
20 Double Unders

Fafa is all smiles (as she should be) in this post-17.4 photo with her coach, Kirsten.

Meet Fafa – 10 HSPU and a Boatload of Fun
Written by Michele Vieux

Congratulations to Fabiola Aviles, aka Fafa, on her performance on 17.4. She’s one of the strongest ladies I know and been working super hard in the gym on attacking her “weaknesses” which really paid off during the Open’s repeat workout from last year. Up until she got off the rower in 17.4, she had never hit a handstand push-up but managed to bang out 10 over the course of this workout –

The Secret to Maintaining Your Health During Travel
Written by Jackie Mulligan

Travel can disrupt our healthy lifestyles in more way than one: from increased stress and disrupted sleep to limited food options and more time sitting. Sometimes it feels like a week away can undo all the good progress we’ve been making. Let’s not let travel be a reason for us to deviate from our health goals. How? After years of traveling cross-country to see family and across the world for my job, I am sharing my best travel tips to keep you healthy,

Working Out For Reward vs Punishment
Written by Arielle Bloom

When you think of burpees, one of two thoughts can pop into your head- “Yay Burpees!” or “Oh no! Burpees.” My guess is that for most of us, the latter is a much more popular response. Why is that? Are burpees really that bad, or is it just that we associate burpees with pain, torture, and misery? As CrossFitters, we are accustomed to burpees popping up in some form several times throughout the week in workouts. However in many sports, burpees are used as a form of punishment,